First Day of Camp NaNoWriMo – 2014

Well folks – for those who follow this blog you will know that I have signed up for the July write-your-fool-head-off Camp NaNoWriMo summer extravaganza.

Camp NaNoWriMoThe deal is I have to complete a 50,000 word manuscript by the end of July.

That’s 1612 words a day – according to the folks at NaNoWriMo.

Well, I have got off to a very good start with 3200 words written today – that’s two days worth of work. I want to give the rest of the day over to just spending some time with my wife – but it felt good to get things rolling like this and she has given me her blessing on this project.

THe cool thing is that means that my quota of 1612 words a day has now dropped down to 1510 words a day. I know that it will not always be this easy for me – but if I can keep ahead of my quota everyday it will make things easier for me later in the month.

I should tell you that I have an awful lot of this novel already roughed out – but by the time I had written the very first page something very cool happened. I found out something about the protagonist that took the book to a whole other level of realism and I’m pretty excited about that.

I can’t say anything in detail because at this stage of the game I need to keep everything under my hat.

But a good beginning is always a promising start.

A lot of writers get flustered about beginnings. They want it to be perfect and beautiful but sometimes it is just important to get your ass off of home base and run like a mad bastard.

Remember – an iris starts out looking like this.

You give it a little time and a little rain and a little sunshine and it grows up to look more along the lines of this.

Graduation & Iris 008

This is a shot from outside of my kitchen window.

So all of my fellow writers out there who feel yourselves losing hope over what seems to be a real futz-up of a first draft manuscript do not lose heart. Take a look at the iris and remember that funky weird alien-like rhizome that it sprouted up from.

I don’t know if I will be able to blog every day about my progress. Might bore you after a while and I cannot sacrifice any writing time this month – but I will do the best I can to keep you folks informed of my progress.

You want to follow along you can keep track of my progress at the Camp NaNoWriMo website.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

 Cool – I just realized that this is my 500th entry to this blog.

Time for a beer.


Hey – if you got something out of reading this how about helping a fellow out? From October 11, 2015 to November 10, 2015 my book A BLURT IN TIME will be in the running for a Kindle Scout contract and I could REALLY use all the nominations I can get.

Just click right here.

Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

11 responses to “First Day of Camp NaNoWriMo – 2014

  1. Many milestones accomplished and many more to come, Steve!

    You’ll accomplish your 50000 words and beyond in record time! I’m in awe.

    Thanks for sharing and reading,

    Sarah Butland – fellow Canadian author

    Like

  2. Congratulations on getting so much done your first day! Your progress and the flower metaphor are both really inspiring to me. I agree that it’s always good to keep your word count higher than the set goal every day you can so that the goals for the following days are lower, just in case you have trouble writing that much on some days. I remember last year I kept my word count higher and was thankful because there were several days where I was unable to write, due to not being at home, or having difficulty writing because of writer’s block or simply getting from point A to point B.

    Good luck on Camp this July!

    Like

  3. Fellow camper here! That’s a very promising start. I’m currently at 491 words myself. I’ll have to increase my output by the end of the day. Wish you all the best!

    Like

    • This isn’t a race…but I”m beating you.

      🙂 🙂 🙂

      All kidding aside, you get stuck check out my very next blog entry and see if it doesn’t help.

      Like

      • Hahaha! You most certainly are, but I’ll be ahead of you by the weekend 😉

        I somehow managed to mess up my Stats. I’m too tired to think about it now. Hopefully I’ll wake up tomorrow and it will have magically sorted itself out.

        Like

  4. Good for you, Steve, for taking this on. I am sure you can do it.

    Like

Leave a comment