Selling Books Through StoryBundle

Back in October 2016 I came across a Facebook post from a UK writer by the name of Simon Kewin. Now, I had heard a bit about StoryBundle, but not a whole lot – but I have an adventurous marketing spirit – (which is another way of saying that I am too stupid to be scared) – and I decided to jump in.

What was I jumping into?

Well, for starters, Simon was putting together a StoryBundle of witch tales and he was looking for novels.

That’s right, Simon was on a witch hunt.

“Well heck,” I said. “I’ve got a novel named TATTERDEMON that has both a witch and a voodoo queen and an entire field of haunted scarecrows. It’s available widely – through Kindle, Nook, Kobo and a bunch of others. I’d love to take part.”

Tatterdemon Omnibus

You can tell you’re reading a Steve Vernon blog entry because there is a commercial about every three paragraphs or so.

It turns out that TATTERDEMON was the very last novel that he had room for in the bundle – so luck was running with me.

I still hadn’t figured out if it was good luck or bad luck – but it was DEFINITELY running with me.

The rules of submission were pretty simple. I had to submit an e-pub and a mobi and a copy of the cover illustration. Also, I had to make certain that my novel WASN’T in KDP Select – but I met the deadline and submitted the book on time.

I had to provide some blurbs and a few choice reviews and a sample.

Man, this was beginning to feel like work, but I was getting excited to.

I had to sign a contract in digital blood.

All right, so I am making the digital blood part, but it was fairly comprehensive.

Then, on Thursday April 27 the bundle went live.

That sucker took off like a rocket.

The bundle is going to be available until May 18, 2017. That’s the hitch about StoryBundle. If you want to read this collection you need to grab it just as fast as you can.

Go on.

I’m waiting.

🙂

***********

So, how can YOU sell your books through StoryBundle?

Well, for starters, I’d advise signing up for their newsletter on their website.

It wouldn’t hurt to buy a couple of their bundles just to get an idea about what these folks are looking for. They generally like to work with authors who they have worked with before, or that they have some familiarity with their work. Some of these bundles are individually curated – such as The Witchy Bundle, which was curated by the aforementioned Simon Kewin. Some of their bundles are curated in-house.

The best way to get an idea is to check out their Q&A page, which will answer a lot of your questions better than I can. 

I can tell you one thing for certain. I have been VERY impressed with StoryBundle. Their sales have been truly impressive. In fact, they have blown my hair back. I go to bed dreaming about the ringing of cash registers. So I intend to work with StoryBundle again, just as soon as I can.

That’s right – I’m downright ecstatic over the sales figures we’ve been hitting.

001

 

You might also want to have a look at the StoryBundle archives which will only serve to torment you at the thought of all of those wicked cool StoryBundles that you have already missed!

The way it works is this. You can – to an extent – name the price you want to pay for the bundle. If you choose to pay fifteen dollars or more you get ALL TEN BOOKS! If you pay LESS than fifteen dollars but more than five dollars you only get the top five books. Also, if you like, you can earmark some as a donation to a charity.

So – don’t wait for the clock to run out. Grab yourself a copy of THE WITCHY BUNDLE from StoryBundle today!

While you are at it, don’t forget to check out THE WRITE STUFF 2017 StoryBundle – a collection of inspirational how-to writing books, curated by the well-known author Kristine Kathryn Rusch!

And – lastly – all of you science fiction fans will want to check out THE SFWA SCIENCE FICTION StoryBundle, curated by Cat Rambo.

Old bold bumblebee

Yours in Storytelling,

Steve Vernon

2 responses to “Selling Books Through StoryBundle

  1. Sandra Hutchison

    Glad to hear your hair is getting blown back. Hope there’s a nice tailwind from it, too!

    Like

Leave a comment