Daily Archives: December 13, 2015

Opinion: Every Author Should Self-Publish (At Least Once)

There is one particular point that Orna Ross makes in this article that really struck home with me. In the past I have referred to myself as a “hybrid” author. That means that I publish both through traditional publishers as well as independently publishing my own work. However – as Orna points out – maybe this is an antiquated concept.

I mean really – when you stop and think about it, I publish my work independently because it suits my purposes. I likewise publish my work through a traditional publisher – BECAUSE IT SUITS MY PURPOSES!

Either way – that is an independent decision that I make – and therefore maybe it is time to start calling myself an indie author – first and foremost.

Better tie a string around my typing finger so that I remember making that decision.

Do yourself a favor and read the rest of Orna’s blog.

Forget your opinions about self-publishing, says Orna Ross. The many myths and misconceptions mean to know it you have to try it.

Source: Opinion: Every Author Should Self-Publish (At Least Once)