Story Songs…

I have ALWAYS had a great fondness for old-school story songs like this one.

Man, I absolutely LOVE that song. It’s even better for me that the musicians behind this ripping old yarn were Canadian. This is one of the tunes that I made famous – (or infamous) – at the warehouse that I used to work in back when my back was a working machine. I’d unload semi-trailers for a living and when I got back in the guts of the rig and the sweat was crawling down my forehead I’d take advantage of the unique acoustical situation and I would bellow out old tunes while I heaved and hauled, all day long.

But there is something about a story-song that always gets me grinning. I love to hear a good yarn put to music like this.

That’s Jim Stafford – the fellow that made Mr. Bojangles sing not to mention “I don’t like spiders and snakes”.

🙂

How about this one?

Yup, that’s Jimmy Dean – the fellow who put the sauce in sausages.

🙂

Mmm-yum – sure could use me some sausages right now.

There is something that I find compelling about an old-school story song. It hearkens back to the “Oh come all ye…” ballads of old and it leaves me with a bad case of the old fart blues every time I hear some of this modern stuff where the singer gets two or three lines stuck in his head and sings it out for three or four minutes and calls it a hit.

Piss on that shit.

Speaking of murder ballads how about this one?

I could go on and on. I think that at the heart of every story ever told lies a deep clear song – even if the rhythm behind that song is nothing more than the steady gnawing chatter of my fingers upon the keyboard.

Lastly – what Canadian out there can’t at least mutter a few lines of this great old story-song.

Come on and sing along with me. I’ve got a truckload full of words to unload this morning and I could use your help on the high notes.

So what’s YOUR favorite story-song?

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon


If you enjoyed this blog entry why don’t you pick up one of my e-books?

I guarantee you that NONE of my characters are six feet tall.

Steve Vernon on Kindle!

Steve Vernon on Kobo!

One response to “Story Songs…

  1. Some nice choices there Steve. My favourite without a doubt id Gordon Lightfoot’s Edmund Fitzgerald but I also like a song called Car 67 by Driver 67 for telling a story.
    Enjoy !

    Like

Leave a Reply

