Wishes Needn’t Wait…

Yesterday was my day off. I wound up shoveling gravel nearly all day long. I soaked two t-shirts through with sweat. Then last evening my wife and I drove out to the local Lazy Boy store. They are in the midst of renovating and were having a HUGE all-old-stock-must-go sale.
“Your birthday is coming up, isn’t it?” my wife coyly asked me.
“Yup,” I said.
“How about we buy that Lazy Boy recliner that you have been dreaming about ever since I first met you?”
So let me tell you about our living room. We have got two gorgeous couches, that are great for stretching out and napping in – but we don’t have any easy chairs. So when I sit to watch television I have to sort of perch on the couch and not put my feet up.
We used to have a pair of easy chairs, but they gave way to the deterioration of age and a large working man’s body. I have been wanting a Lazy Boy recliner for a very long time – but every time I start to think about buying one I think about our debtload and all of the things that we NEED to buy – and I get second thoughts.
“No second thoughts now,” my sweet darling Belinda said. “It’s time. Your back is killing you. All that hard work you’ve done. You’ve earned this. Let’s buy this chair.”
So I said yes and she hugged me – she was that grateful to see me taking care of myself for a change.
In fact, we bought TWO chairs. We found a chair that was perfect for her as well. The two of them will be delivered early in August. No longer will I perch upon my couch. I can hardly wait!
Madison recliner

This isn’t the EXACT chair we bought, but it is pretty close.

Sometimes you have to do that for yourself.

Sometimes you have to stop worrying about what MIGHT happen in the future and make your wishes come true – RIGHT NOW!

Sometimes you have to stop talking and dreaming about something and just get up off of your butt and MAKE IT HAPPEN!

So, because my wife made me get up OFF of my butt and make my wish come true I am going to get the chance to sit on my butt comfortably.

Don’t wait for the future to come.

Make it happen NOW!

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

One response to “Wishes Needn’t Wait…

  1. Sandra Hutchison

    Yay! Enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

