The Fault In Our Stars

51dezgvr2b7l

It took me a while to get around to reading this novel.

About six months ago – on August 21, 2016, I came home from an evening shift at work. I was feeling happy, because it was my birthday and I was looking forward to a cold beer and a birthday hug from my wife.

Only it wasn’t that happy. It turned out that was the same day that my younger brother lost a four year battle with pancreatic cancer. He spent the last day or so in the company of his wife and kids watching Gord Downie’s big Kingston concert on television and a hockey game.

And then he was gone.

I picked up this book a week or so ago and decided to try and read it. I had heard good things about it – but mostly I just wanted to try and get over the pain of my brother’s passing. Maybe not get over it, but get a little used to it.

I did enjoy reading this novel. It was a good and human story and even though there wasn’t a whole lot of action in it, the book took me on a quiet little journey and I would recommend this book to anyone.

I haven’t seen the movie.

It’s funny – but I am having a harder time writing what was supposed to be a straight forward book review then I did reading the book in the first place.

steve-vernon-and-dan-vernon-2011

Dan – my younger brother – the big guy on my left.

I don’t have anything more profound to say than I miss my brother.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

8 responses to “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. i’m so sorry for your loss. i lost a sister when we were in our twenties and i still think of her every day. i’ve seen this book and never read it, but i intend to read it soon.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry about your brother and for your lonely heart. Sometimes a quiet book is just the thing to take the mind to a gentler place.

    Like

  3. It’s always sad when a loved one leaves us. Sorry for your loss. I never read this book (or saw the movie) because I knew it dealt with a depressing topic. There’s only one way a novel like this can end.

    Like

  4. I had trouble reading this book. It was well written but the subject matter upset me too much. I guess that means it did what it was supposed to. I am sure you miss your brother a lot. I still miss mine 42 years later. Sending hugs.

    Like

  5. So sorry, Steve. My fourth child was born on that very same day. He surprised us by coming a month early. What a very different day for us. I hope the pain lessens each day and the good memories get stronger.

    Like

  6. I’m very, very sorry to hear about your brother’s passing.

    Like

  7. Steve, I am sorry about the loss of your brother. That’s tough. I do know that as time passes your pain won’t be as severe, although it always will be there in some way. I hope you can think of the good times with your brother to help get you through this difficult time.

    Like

  8. Bless you, I’m so sorry to hear that. Thinking of you.

    All the best.

    MTM

    Like

Leave a Reply

