THIRTY DAYS OF KINDLE SCOUT – DAY 25

Okay – so according to the Kindle Scout statistics counter I have FOUR DAYS LEFT and I am currently at the 460 hour mark on the HOT & TRENDING list with 1455 views to my claim.

Let me hereby announce that it would be wicked nerdy cool for me to actually hit the 500 hour mark on the HOT & TRENDING list.

Nerd

 

Understand that this STILL doesn’t guarantee ANYTHING except that I managed to convince an awful lot of folks to take a chance on Kelpie Dreams.

So let’s take a look at what Kindle Scout CAN do for a writer like me?

Or like you…

For starters they edit your novel if they feel it needs it. And let’s face it – most of us ALL need an editor. No matter how brilliant you think you are, no matter how natural a speller and how you have such an instinctive feel for proper grammar, no matter how wonderful your cat really thinks that you are – you need an editor who will take a look and say – “Whoops, you goofed there!” or “Wouldn’t this be better if???”

They get your book out into the public eye with all of the Kindle Scout promotional muscle behind it. That still doesn’t mean that you can sit back and have a cold beer and wait for the royalty checks to start rolling in. You still have to get out there and promote the book yourself – but if anything these thirty days have taught me – is how to promote Kelpie Dreams.

They also give you a $1500.00 advance – and I want to talk about this. I had somebody on Facebook a few weeks grab me by the digital shirt collar and complain about some author they knew who was upset because they bailed out on their contract and had to repay some of that advance money.

That’s something you need to consider. Kindle Scout DOES give you the opportunity to bail out if your book does not reach a certain sales figure – but that $1500.00 is part of a contract that you have signed – so obligations are going to be involved. Besides – I fully intend to give Kindle Scout their full five year run to try and make the Kelpie Dreams series a success.

The way I see it is that I have slowly improved my own sales over the last three years – but it took me that long to do it. So I do not intend to get all worked up and impatient if Kindle Scout does NOT sell me a bucketload of books right off of the bat. I intend to grab on to Kindle Scout like a summer tick on a hound dog’s ear.

I plan to be busy writing other books.

I am building something here – and that takes time.

I don’t expect instant success whether or not they accept me or not. Either way I am in this game for the long run.

Now let’s see those orange bars, shall we?

February 28 2016

So what am I doing right now to promote my campaign?

Well – a couple of links to my blog went live today over at the CARNIVAL OF INDIES page and I advise you writer-types to go and check that page out. Not counting my two measly blog links there is a LOT of wicked-cool up-to-date information for folks who are interested in books and e-reading and indie writing.

That’s all ready steered a bit of attention to my blog page and – who knows – maybe even another nomination or two.

Which doesn’t hurt.

You see, at the end of the day whether or not my book is selected for Kindle Scout I still have bagged myself an awful lot of attention for my indie writing efforts and there are a lot more folks who know about me and know about Kelpie Dreams and hopefully some of them will take a chance and pick up a copy when it does go live this spring.

So – if you are an indie writer with a rock solid manuscript and a good sales history and a knack for social media you REALLY ought to take a chance on Kindle Scout!

 


PLEASE HELP ME win a Kindle Scout publishing contract by nominating my book and you can earn a FREE Kindle copy of my newest novel KELPIE DREAMS if the book is selected.

Yours in Storytelling,

Steve Vernon

Leave a Reply

