Daily Archives: February 24, 2016

THIRTY DAYS OF KINDLE SCOUT – DAY 21

I am still hot.

I have that on good authority.

Kindle Scout tells me I am hot.

My bathroom mirror tends to agree.

Mirror Shot

All right – so what I really want to know is HOW do vampires shave?

It is Day 21 and I have EIGHT days left according to Kindle Scout. I know that the math does NOT work out – but however it falls I also know that sometime next week – say Thursday or Friday – I will be swinging in the breeze waiting to hear the final decision from the gods of Kindle Scout.

Right now I have a total of 376 hours on HOT & TRENDING and, according to the little orange HOT sign on my campaign page I am STILL hot today.

I also have 1255 views on my campaign.

February 24 2016

At this point I feel as if I have done everything that I can possibly do.

There are, of course, always options. I could throw money at this matter – but at this point in the game I have more than enough orange on that chart and I would be far better off hanging onto my money. If Kindle Scout DOES accept my novel I will need that money to help promote my novel.

Likewise, more social media posts would only be wasted at this point in time. The folks who follow me on Twitter and Facebook are doubtless growing a little weary of my daily obsession and I will need to talk to these folks when KELPIE DREAMS hits the market – one way or another.

I am going to continue my daily blog entry – just because I believe this will give folks a better idea on just how a Kindle Scout campaign works. With any luck I will be able to continue on into March discussing how a Kindle Scout release can effect an indie writer’s standing.

Let’s wait and see, shall we.

So what CAN I do now?

Well, I can write. And I have been working on a new project as well as plotting two other projects for the future.

It has been difficult to maintain my creative focus as of late. This Kindle Scout campaign has taken up an awful lot of creative time and energy – so at this point of the game I feel that I should warn you folks about the very real possibility of experiencing this phenomenon during your own Kindle Scout Campaign – if you choose to go that way.

A writer REALLY ought to remind themselves to keep their daily word count up and to not give way to the temptation of spending all of their time obsessing over Kindle Scout.

I can’t say that I have ACTUALLY followed my advice over these last few weeks – but it is good advice, nonetheless.

In the meantime, any shares or tweets or nominations are immensely appreciated. Even though I am NOT going to throw anymore money and/or much more creative energy towards this project does NOT mean that I’d be glad to see that big orange bar making machine stop too soon.

Let’s see what tomorrow looks like, shall we?

 


PLEASE HELP ME win a Kindle Scout publishing contract by nominating my book and you can earn a FREE Kindle copy of my newest novel KELPIE DREAMS if the book is selected.

Yours in Storytelling,

Steve Vernon