Daily Archives: February 8, 2016

THIRTY DAYS OF KINDLE SCOUT – DAY 5

All right – so I am typing this at 6:30am here in Nova Scotia and the weatherman is talking about a gigantic blizzard that is getting set to blow into town later today and hang around until sometime past tomorrow morning.

I feel as if my Kindle Scout Campaign might actually be contributing to this oncoming meteorological phenomenon. I figure all of that huffing and puffing that I have done online has stirred up something nasty in the atmosphere.

Yes folks – this is a freaking news flash – Steve Vernon admits to being a blowhard!

 

Let me lay it out to you in numbers.

On Day 1 – I spent ONE hour in the Hot and Trending list.

On Day 2 and Day 3 – I spent TWO hours each in the Hot and Trending list.

On Day 4 – I spent TWENTY FOUR hours in the Hot and Trending list.

On Day 5 – I spent TWENTY FOUR more hours in the Hot and Trending list.

Or would that be “on” the Hot and Trending list.

Damn it Jim, I’m an author, not a grammarian.

🙂

Will I be in/on the Hot and Trending list by tomorrow? Who knows? But I am having fun while I am doing this.

🙂


 

Let me see if I can write down the four key elements that a writer requires for a successful Kindle Scout campaign.

1 – Write a good book. This isn’t rocket science. At the end of the game all of the Hot and Trending votes you get, all of the nominations all of your friends sharing your pitch page on their Facebook to their cat does not make a single bit of difference if your book sucks harder than a Dollar Store vacuum cleaner. Kindle Scout – at the heart of it – is a publishing company. They do NOT want to print a book that blows out loud.

2 – Have a proven track record. This goes back to that whole important concept of the Kindle Scout folks WANTING a book that is going to grow legs. Remember, they are going to give you money – right off the bat. Fifteen hundred bucks – right off the freaking bat. Now, as advances go that isn’t huge – but it is still fifteen hundred freaking bucks. They want to make that $1500 back just as quick as they can. They want to make that $1500 back – WITH INTEREST. Mind you, if your book is THAT good you still stand a good chance of getting picked up by Kindle Scout, even if this is your very first book!

3 – Promote yourself like you were a political candidate, one day before the election. I know that this hearkens back to the whole HOT & TRENDING issue – but more importantly than that, this hearkens back to that whole matter of the fifteen hundred bucks. Kindle Scout wants somebody who they can count on to actively work to sell themselves. That is what it all boils down to at the end of the day. Kindle Scout is a publishing business – not a sweepstakes ticket. So go into your campaign with the very best book, determined to do your utmost to help get the word out and drum up a little heat and maybe even nominations along the way.

4 – Get lucky. This is the most important element of all. Let’s say you put your most wonderful zombie aardvark novel out there into a magnificently planned out Kindle Scout campaign – only three months ago Kindle Scout published a most wonderful zombie aardvark novel that bombed harder than Pearl Harbor – the movie or the world event! At that point they are REALLY going to be reluctant to pick up that zombie aardvark novel of yours – no matter HOW wonderful your cat says that it is.

Aardvark

Aardvark, standing in for the cat

Hope that helps some.


 

PLEASE HELP ME win a Kindle Scout publishing contract by nominating my book and you can earn a FREE Kindle copy of my newest novel KELPIE DREAMS if the book is selected.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon