Updates on the Kindle Scout Program

Kindle Scout

All right – so most of folks already know that I am right in the middle of trying to pitch a perfect Kindle Scout Campaign and I am banging on every door in the hope of talking folks into nominating my book.

Ha! You weren't expecting this. I usually wait until the blog to sneak this in - but I figure if I slide it in right the middle of the blog that folks will accidentally trip into clicking this banner and then inadvertantly nominating my book A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program - which is a little like one of those Wile E. Coyote roadrunner traps that never, ever worked - STILL, if the book makes it into the Kindle Scout Publishing Program you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Ha! You weren’t expecting this. I usually wait until the blog to sneak this in – but I figure if I slide it in right the middle of the blog that folks will accidentally trip into clicking this banner and then inadvertantly nominating my book A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program – which is a little like one of those Wile E. Coyote roadrunner traps that never, ever worked – STILL, if the book makes it into the Kindle Scout Publishing Program you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Whew.

I think I blew out a knuckle joint typing that last paragraph.

Mind you, nominations and keeping yourself on the Hot & Trending list isn’t the ONLY way to get yourself selected for Kindle Scout. There is a lot of books that spend eighty to ninety percent of their campaign on the Hot & Trending list that STILL do not get picked!!!

(that last sentence deserved those three exclamation marks)

Let me explain.

I am not entirely certain WHY Amazon does NOT tell us how many nominations we earn but I have a pretty good guess. I believe they want to keep that to themselves so that if my book with 313 nominations gets passed over to publish somebody else’s book with 311 nominations (both numbers picked right out of thin hypothetical air 🙂 ) that I don’t go crying to them “BUT MY BOOK HAD MORE NOMINATIONS!”

At the end of the day it is going to come down to whether or not Amazon figures they can sell your book. The nominations are nice. The Hot & Trending is nice – but if they think your book – or my book – will not sell then we are out on our butts.

You have to think of your submission as being a kind of a birthday gift to Kindle Scout. You put it together and you wrap it up and you put it on the gift table. Maybe all of your friends come around and recognize that pretty green polka-dotted alligator-skin wrapping paper that you always love to use and they say to you – “Now that looks like a damn fine present.” But then Amazon unwraps your present/manuscript and takes a look at it and says “Man, that gift looks like it came out of a Crackerjack box.” then for you the party is over.

Myself, I always get my manuscripts out of Kinder-eggs – much classier than Crackerjacks these days. 🙂

Still – no matter what happens – you will still have reached a lot of people who DID nominate you. Even if the Kindle Scout gods do not see fit to select yours or my manuscript for publication you still can put it on your own and you are guaranteed to be able to announce to those folks who did see fit to nominate your e-book that it is now available in e-print.

At the end of the day Amazon prefers to keep its inner workings secret – and rightly so. If they are totally transparent about the way that their algorithms and gears mesh then somebody out there would figure out a way to game the system and futz the whole thing up.


Lastly – I got this whole Kindle Scout blog thread started with a guest-blog appearance by Kindle Scout superstar Jill Nojack that was entitled The Scoop on the Kindle Scout Program.

Well – I know that Jill Nojack knows a whole lot more than I do about Kindle Scout – so why don’t I turn you back over to her – thanks to the folks at Youtube and The Science Fiction & Fantasy Marketing Podcast.

(Fair warning. I posted the Youtube before watching it. I’ve since watched it. The video doesn’t REALLY get into the Kindle Scout program until about the halfway point.)

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

5 responses to “Updates on the Kindle Scout Program

  1. Steve, rearranged a nomination on a book not expiring for a couple of weeks and put it on yours. All the best wishes 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Kindle Scout, Now International: Participating Authors Tell About Their Experiences | Felipe Adan Lerma

Leave a Reply

