My Big October 99 cent Promotion – Day 2

All right – so remember how I told you that I actually had TWO e-books up for this big 99 cent October promotion?

Well, let me tell you about book number two!

(keep in mind that I put this blog info together last week).


DEVIL_TREE_new (1)

For me – one of the interesting aspects of this promotion is that a lot of these websites I have chosen promote wide. And both of the books that I am pushing are published wide. Lately I have not had much in the way of luck selling anywhere else but Kindle and I am taking a long look at how my sales figures tally up in Kobo, Nook, Apple and the like over the next month or so. I’m looking, I am figuring, and I am thinking. Kobo has taken a couple of interesting steps – what with them upgrading their promotion series and adding that funky little Book Points feature – but for me the deciding is going to be based SOLELY upon the amount of books I can move in the next month or so.

Let me tell you all about the second part of my October Promotion.

I am promoting my historical-horror DEVIL TREE simultaneously to TATTERDEMON.

DEVIL TREE is a funny sort of a book. I wrote it about thirty years ago when I was just finishing my second run at a Bachelor of Arts – Majoring in English and Minoring in Philosophy. It is a deep and thoughtful book that reads somewhat like a cross between Dostoevsky and Dan Simmons. It actually won a local literary award. But it isn’t a typical horror novel and as a result my reviews so far have been SERIOUSLY mixed. I have got some folks who have raved about the depth and the thoughtfulness of the writing – however, I have got just as many WTF-one-star reviews – primarily from a book club who picked up DEVIL TREE as one of their books. So this haunting novel scares me – but for a different reason than you might think.

DEVIL TREE
Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #665,239 Paid in Kindle Store
#3455 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Lit & Fiction > Myth & Folk Tales
#3474 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Fairy Tales
#6788 in Books > Literature & Fiction > Mythology & Folk Tales

PROMO DETAILS
October 26: BookSCREAM
October 27: Buck Books
October 27-31: Just Kindle Books
October 28 – Bknights promote-on-my-Twitter-site
October 29: Read Cheaply
October 30 – ebookstage
October 31- Bargain Booksy
October 31 – Betty Book Freak

This  isn’t as thorough a promotion as that of TATTERDEMON – but like i said I am more than just a little bit scared about some of the reviews this might garner.

Let me put it this way.

If you dig the slow, steady, tunnel-digging pace of a rousing Dostoyevsky novel you might actually dig DEVIL TREE. I love it and my wife loves it – partly because she first fell in love with me at a public reading of this novel.

But it ain’t HARRY POTTER.


Lastly, let me tell you all about how the sales have been going.

Well, so far this morning things haven’t been too lively – but it is early days.

My Book Cave looks to have moved one kindle copy of Tatterdemon – or that copy might actually have been moved thanks to my heavy-duty blogging.

Who knows?

Either way I am not disheartened. My Book Cave is new on the block and I was glad to help them out and they may grow up into something bigger – and lets be honest – it was, at best, a promo of seized opportunity. They were looking for authors to promote and I jumped in. It didn’t cost me a nickle and they have promised me faithfully to keep nudging the book over the next week or so by tweeting and mentioning it in their blog.

The book signing went fairly well – as I mentioned in an earlier blog entry today.

This is early days. I’ve got a solid left and right coming up tomorrow with the KINDLE BOOK REVIEW HALLOWEEN PARTY for Tatterdemon and BookSCREAM for Tatterdemon AND Devil Tree.

I’ll keep you all posted.

yours in storytelling

Steve Vernon

If this blog entry was the least bit helpful and/or interesting - PLEASE CLICK this banner and nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into the Kindle Scout Publishing Program you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

If this blog entry was the least bit helpful and/or interesting – PLEASE CLICK this banner and nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into the Kindle Scout Publishing Program you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Leave a Reply

