My Kindle Scout Campaign – Day 4

Mirror Evil Dead

Every morning I get up out of bed and go down the hall and walk into the bathroom.

THEN – I do the man-thing. I stare into the bathroom mirror and I make a few discrete muscles and I say to myself – “Dang, I am HOT!”

I have to do that BEFORE coffee to help ward off the inevitable invasions of reality that clear vision can incur.

It turns out that my Kindle Scout Campaign offers me the very same phenomenon.

Every morning I get up and I take a peek at my Campaign and I say “Dang, I am STILL hot!”

This is my fourth day and I have enjoyed 69 out of 96 happy hours of Hot & Trending.

I have 335 views so far.

That means that SO FAR I am still keeping my head above water. This could end tomorrow – but not for lack of trying.

Somebody at kboards asked me if I could offer any tips to a newbie.

I told her that the biggest tip I could offer a newbie – considering that I am a rank newbie myself – is to get the word out there as best as you can. Emulate the waves upon the beach. Turn over every stone that you can find in your own social network and then spread out and reach other social networks. Tweet like a drunken parakeet, Facebook like it was the end of the world and you were trying to personally message every single living human being on the planet. Tell your family and your friends and blog like a yodeling alpine bullfrog. Be persistent without being obnoxious.

Most of all, try and have some fun. Remember that this is NOT the end of the world. Drunken parakeets and yodeling alpine bullfrogs are not overtaking our planet. Even if you DON’T get a single freaking second on the Hot & Trending list; even if Kindle Scout does NOT accept your novel – remember, you can still publish it yourself – and all of those people who did think enough of your creative efforts can still be reached to alert them to the release of your book.

Kindle Scout is a fun sort of game that way.

Even when you lose, you win.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon


Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Leave a Reply

