My Kindle Scout Campaign – Day 2

Okay, so I am coming to the end of my second day of my Kindle Scout Campaign and I have a bit to report.

Kindle Scout is a little like American Idol for e-books in that you depend upon your e-book getting noticed and nominated by a whole lot of people. The only trouble is that (as far as I can tell) you are not able to determine just how many actual nominations you have accumulated.

The second problem is the Kindle Scout system is set up so that the actual statistics only update themselves ONCE a day – about 5am or so.

So when I got up this morning my book A BLURB IN TIME was listed as being HOT AND TRENDING. In fact – according to my Kindle Scout Campaign Statistics my book was HOT AND TRENDING for at least three hours today.

I am pretty sure it was more than three hours – but again – that hour count is ONLY updated once a day – at about 5am.

The other critical piece of data is that A BLURB IN TIME’s campaign board  received 124 views.

Understand – that doesn’t necessarily mean the book was NOMINATED 124 times. It just means that someone clicked on my page and took a look. I am not sure how and/or when I will ever find out exactly how many nominations I receive.

The Statistics page also tells me that 39% of my page traffic came directly from the Kindle Scout and 61% came from external sources – like Facebook.

Furthermore the Statistics Page informed me that about 37 of my 124 views came directly from Facebook links. Another 16 came from kboards and a dozen or so came from the pages of my blog.

The HOT listing did change about midday when it simply read NEW – but shortly after suppertime the campaign was HOT again.

Remember – that 3 hours and those 124 views were all listed this Monday morning at 5am – so none of Monday afternoon and evening views are showing yet. So tomorrow ought to bring me a whole different picture.

Here’s hoping. Wish me luck and if you can – PLEASE help spread the word. I really, really, really want to make this work!


Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

Click this banner. Nominate A BLURT IN TIME for the Kindle Scout program. If the book makes it into Kindle Scout you will automatically receive a free Kindle copy of the book.

yours in storytelling

Steve Vernon

For more info on the Kindle Scout program don’t forget to check out Jill Nojack’s guest-blog entry.

2 responses to “My Kindle Scout Campaign – Day 2

  1. Best of luck, Steve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

