Lessons in advertising my eBook (what worked, what didn’t)

I am in the midst of building a big promotion for this coming October – and this blog entry from horror author Matt Manochio, was RIGHT up my alley. The dude gives names and numbers and all of the nitty-gritty that I have been looking for.

Much appreciated, Matt.

(and – for those folks interested in how Matt’s promotion FINALLY worked out – here’s a link to the follow-up blog entry.)

Scary Funny

How many books do I need to sell to make a bestsellers list?

Every author at some point has Googled a variation of that question. Because let’s face it: most of us want to see our name on The New York Times bestsellers list right above or below whichever 50 Shades book is befouling that list, and there’s no shame in admitting that. (Yes, technically it would be nice to be #1, but you’ve got to start somewhere.)

So how do I get on the bestsellers list without cashing out my 401k and buying 9,000 copies of my book? (I read somewhere that 9,000 is the number of books you’d need to sell in a week to get on the NYT list. Whether that’s true, I have no idea. God bless what you read on the Internet.)

My point is you need people to buy your book. And for a…

View original post 2,668 more words

Leave a Reply

