East Coast Paracon – How I get ready for a book signing gig

All right – so next weekend I am heading down to Liverpool, Nova Scotia to speak at the 2015 East Coast Paracon. I’m looking forward to meeting a whole lot of folks who are interested in ghosts and sea monsters and the like.

Which means I have to be ready to sign and sell some books.

This is always an exciting time for me. I love meeting like-minded readers and I love getting the opportunity to meet old fans and possibly a few new fans. I truly enjoy signing copies of my books for sale to the public.

That’s weird, I know. I realize that a LOT of authors whom I know actually DREAD going to book signings.

Not me.

But a certain amount of preparation is required.

First off I have to make certain that I have all of the books that might sell at such an event. You have to realize that I will NOT be the only author at this event. There will be a LOT of competition.

First off – make sure you bring a few pens along. There is NOTHING more embarrassing than showing up at a book signing and having to borrow somebody’s pen.

I am bringing copies of my various Nimbus books with me.

Haunted Harbours smallLunenburg_Werewolf_cover-v2

Maritime Monstersdeeper_cover_Jan_24th

As well as paperback copies of some of my self-published work.

Sudden Death Overtime - final art

Uncle Bob's Red Flannel Bible Camp - From Eden to the Ark

I also need some book stands.

twisted-wire-black-stand-193202Z3ZW

And some business cards.

business card

And a cash float.

floating money

And a table cloth.

Tree of Life

And some tasteful signage.

Blog Photo 001

Pack the books carefully in boxes so as to eliminate road-wear and make sure to bring along a small dolly to help move the boxes into the hall.

Zuni Doll

No, not THAT kind of dolly. THIS kind!

dolly

I like to bring along a supply of bags just in case some of the customers want to buy more than one book.

If you anticipate a LONG signing session it wouldn’t hurt to bring along a comfortable folding chair and some snacks and some water.

If you are interested in more book signing tips be certain to check out my blog entry “FLY FISHING IN THE RIVER OF POSSIBILITY”.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

Leave a Reply

