Everything I need to know about Life I learned from Conan the Barbarian.

All right – so I grew up reading Robert E. Howard paperbacks and following the Marvel comic series and it was great to run into a fellow Canadian Conan fan.

Tyner Gillies - Storyteller

“Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.” – Robert E Howard

When I was about six years old, my elder cousin, Mike, had been sentenced to watch me for the afternoon. As I was trailing on his heels around the house, and he continually referred to me as a ‘Willnot’ (a piece of shit stuck to the hair on his ass that ‘will not’ come off), he was at a loss for ways to keep me entertained and out of his hair.

Finally, he dug into a box in his room and produced a tattered stack of old comic books. “Here, Willnot,” he said. “Make yourself scarce for a while.”

I sifted through the stack, finding the standard mid-1980’s superheroes shouting various slogans denouncing evil, Russia and bad economics. But in the middle, with…

View original post 1,247 more words

5 responses to “Everything I need to know about Life I learned from Conan the Barbarian.

  1. Yep, same here, both the comics and the books. And I reread the stories every now and again. A couple of years ago Dark Horse Books published a series of graphic novels which followed Howard’s stories very closely. The art alone was awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

