Day 14 at Camp NaNoWriMo – Busy As A Bee

Old bold bumblebee

Okay – so bees aren’t nearly as busy as their P.R. would have you believe.

An average honeybee work in the daytime but when it is dark they sit around and get buzzed.

Now bees don’t really sleep like people do.

For starters, they don’t have eyelids to close – but they do stop moving and they do relax their muscles and even let thier antennae slump to the northwest, just a little.

Even the queen bee gets to take a break every now and then – once they’ve laid their thousand or so quota’s worth of eggs in the day.

They relax, they suck back on a little nectar and sometimes they even dance.

But then they get back to work.

I had a great weekend and I let my writing quota slump a little but I hammered out 2000 words this morning – which brings me to 28700 words – give or take. It is July 14 and I am a little more than halfway through the manuscript – and right on schedule.

So – to any guilt and bad feelings I might have for skimping a little on my quota over the weekend I say “Buzz off!”

(there is a looong old musical intro to this – but stick around for the lyrics and you get a chuckle or two)

I am an old bold bumblebee. Got a stinger twice as long as my arm. If you see my buzzing ’round you woman you know I don’t mean you any harm.

At least that is the way that I heard the song played way back when.

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

If you want to follow along with me at Camp just hit this link and watch me get busy!

2 responses to “Day 14 at Camp NaNoWriMo – Busy As A Bee

  1. Thanks for the musical interlude Steve now stop skiving and get back to work. Don’t think for one minute we’re fooled by the bee mask, we know it’s you.

    Like

  2. Curses, found out.

    I’ve got to get ready to go to work for a night shift – but I appreciate the pep-talk. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

