Day 10 at Camp NaNoWriMo – Forget About Writer’s Block!

Advice-On-Writing-For-Writers-From-Writers

I was interviewed today and one of the questions asked me was “How do I find time to write?”

Well, these days I make time.

These last ten days I have been making time to get my writing done.

I intend to make this a year-long habit.

Don’t get me wrong. For the last year I haven’t written every day. In fact there were way too many days that I did not write a single word – unless you count diddling about on Facebook and the like.

It can happen.

Some folks out there probably want to ask me if I had WRITER’S BLOCK!

(Did you ever notice how some people say those two words in big loud concrete capitol letters when they say them?)

That is the condition that some people say they have when they cannot write – but I will not give that condition the benefit of an actual label. Once you name something it becomes a whole lot bigger in your mind.

So no, I did not suffer from WRITER’S BLOCK.

I was just being lazy.

There is nothing wrong with being lazy. I work a good job and I do my best to pay the bills on time. I’ve written an awful lot of words over these last ten years or so – so I am certainly entitled to a little slack time.

I mow the lawn when it needs it.

I shovel the snow when it needs it.

So I am not a LAZY man – but when it came to writing over this last year I was indulging myself for far too long.

That will change.

That has already begun to change.

So the next time you find yourself stuck at a certain point and you are tempted to drag out those big two words – WRITER’S BLOCK.

The next time you find yourself using those two big words to bang yourself together a genuine police-sized road block of creativity.

The moment you begin to wallow rather than resist – do yourself a favor, would you?

If you find yourself in that position perform a triple somersault in mid-air and kick yourself squarely in the ass.

You’ll thank me later.

*************

I wrote the answers to an interview today – about 1000 words or so.

I edited a story and submitted it.

And I wrote 1700 words.

That brings me to 23,827 words in ten days.

That’s not too bad for a fellow who does not suffer from WRITER’S BLOCK!

Let me leave you now so that you get back to making time to write while I get ready to go and work a night shift.

Unfortunately, I do not suffer from JOB BLOCK either.

 

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

2 responses to “Day 10 at Camp NaNoWriMo – Forget About Writer’s Block!

  1. Hey Steve, sorry I am late with my post today. I have been lazy a lot, not lately since I have started Nano. But, between applying for jobs, writing my blog, reading all of or most of the blogs that I am subscribed to, reading a few chapters a day of a book for review, I get overwhelmed. But, I am learning to balance it all with time management. I haven’t written for my Nano yet, and it’s 9:35 pm where I am. I will get it done, I was going to rest, but nope. I gotta keep moving!

    Like

  2. Pingback: #CampNaNoWriMo: Fighting Writer’s Block and “Squirrel” | Jottings and Writings

Leave a Reply

