The New John Constantine!

All right – so a LOT of you folks out there aren’t as comic book geeky as I am – but I am a big old fan of John Constantine (Hellblazer) and I was SO disappointed with Keanu Reeve’s lame as a petrified one-legged moose portrayal of John in the 2005 flick CONSTANTINE.

Which sucked platypus eggs – and not in a good way.

But I have got to tell you the casting of this skinny little Welshman Matt Ryan has REALLY got me a-tingle. Sure, it’s just a television show – but they DEFINITELY have got the look good and proper!

Here’s hoping.

Anybody else out there as comic-book-geeked up about this one?

Here’s the link!

And here’s the photo!

The New Constantine, Matt Ryan!

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

2 responses to “The New John Constantine!

  1. I am revisiting comic books and getting overwhelmed by the vast variety within that genre in preps for a speaker panel event in Ottawa. Not really into the dark, action hero titles.

    I am not in agreement with your opinion of Keanu Reeves’ portrayal of Constantine. I thought he was good and nice to look at. The movie scared the sh*t out of me though.

    Ask your Uncle Bob though if the bible ever mentioned that angels had/have wings. According to a resident English Lit. Masters grad, there was no mention of wings.

    T

    Like

  2. Uncle Bob tells me that he has read the Bible twice through – and is currently on his third time through – and so far he cannot recollect EVER seeing anything about wings. 🙂

    I think I might have liked the movie CONSTANTINE if it had have been about some other character. It was a little like hearing Bobby Dylan sing Johnny Cash. Dylan is all right and can sing his own stuff just fine – but he isn’t Johnny Cash. I felt that Keanu was SO un-Constantine that it just spoiled the movie for me.

    Good luck on the panel,

    Like

Leave a Reply

