My Big Kindle Push – Part Two…

Okay – so by now you’ve seen the first part of my push – the release of five short sea tales as displayed in my last blog entry.

With the exception of the first book the stories were ALL published with covers made with the Kindle Cover Creator.

I am NOT saying that this is the BEST way to make your cover. I would still much rather purchase my covers from professional cover artists. Let’s face it – the covers leave a LOT to be desired.

But I’m not looking to create a huge bestseller. I am just trying to chum the waters a little in preparation for some bigger moves. Then – when I’ve made a bit more money I’ll invest in some proper covers.

At the same time I have just released a weird western novella. This isn’t my first weird western – and it won’t be my last – but I believe it just might be my best. I am REALLY proud of this little yarn.

Rueful Regret - Kindle Cover II

RUEFUL REGRET is a novella that asks the question “How far would one man go for vengeance?” Think of Larry McMurtry (Lonesome Dove) writing “The Cask of Amontillado” and you might find yourself somewhere close to the mood of this particular yarn.

Well – I have to go and cook a pot of spaghetti.

Come tomorrow and I will tell you ALL about Friday 13th…

Yours in storytelling,
Steve Vernon

3 responses to “My Big Kindle Push – Part Two…

  1. Steve, I haven’t heard of the Kindle Cover Creator. I’ll have to check it out. At the moment I make my covers using PowerPoint. You can see what I’ve created by visiting the book page at Quarter Castle Publishing and clicking a link to a book. I’m still learning, and I feel each cover is better than the ones that came before it. And I can make the front and back cover that works for CreateSpace.
    By the way, the cover for Rueful Regret works great.

    Like

    • I’ll take a look when I get a chance, Diane.

      Kindle Cover Creator is in Beta-mode and it shows up on your Kindle Dashboard if you are part of the Beta test batch of authors. It shows up right where you upload the cover when you entering a book into Kindle format. On my dashboard it gives me two options – basically ENTER YOUR COVER or DO YOU WANT TO USE THE KINDLE COVER CREATOR.

      So, check your Kindle dashboard the next time you enter a work into Kindle format.

      And thanks for the good words on RUEFUL REGRET. Actually, the cover for RUEFUL REGRET is the work of a cover-artist who left the business about a year ago or so. This was the last cover I bought for him and I had been hanging onto it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

