How DO our readers find us??? Good question!

3 responses to “

  1. “That’s a good question,” he said.
    “That’s a bad answer,” I replied.

    Okay, I’m replying to your blog b/c I feel that I have an awesome blog post up on mine that I want to leave for a few days so that the 3 people that are subscribed will have a chance to read it. I have a fantasy that one of them is out on Safari in Africa or something…

    I looked at this same article online- just where, I’m not sure; but I think it was referred to in Digital Book World’s site- they’ve just ended their conference, and frankly a question like this is right up their alley.

    I have taken some stats courses, and to tell the truth, without knowing the methodology employed or the sample group, this graph isn’t very scary. It shows a trend, that I’ve paid attention to, but in and of itself, my grand kid’s finger painting is as relevant as this chart with respect to do me trying to break though as an new author.

    Starting with the sample group.
    From what I see in this graph, 66% of web surfers went to Amazon the second week of December. And of all those people, 10% bought a book.

    When you take into account ALL the stuff Amazon has on their site, that’s a enormous number. One out of ten people who click on the Amazon link bought a book? Holy moley.

    Next is Goodreads. And those numbers are even stronger. FIVE percent of all internet surfers went there? I doubt that, but what the hell. And one out of three people who DID go to Goodreads bought a book? HOLY FRIKKIN COW.

    Facebook, You Tube, Twit, Pinterest are also big players on the web, but for my ends, they provide nothing meaningful in terms of driving book sales. They provide a blip, nothing more. Which dovetails with my Twit and FB experiences. They’re noisy, distracting places, that basically waste time for me.

    I love being part of Good Reads though. I’ve met a bunch of people, and I’ve learned a lot about this craft I’m working on. The funny thing is, that when I’m there, I don’t mention my books. I’m trying to learn and be part of a community of readers first. Sure, I’ll mention I write, and sure, I’ll discuss some experiences I’ve had as a noob- they’re funny, but I enjoy the interaction.

    Goodreads gets 45 mins of my day, and yes, I set a timer. I am online for 2 hrs a day building my network, and then I market for two hours.

    I have decided that Goodreads will drive most eBook published authors success. I point to the 1/3 ratio mentioned earlier. It’s the world’s biggest book club, and they focus on readers first- not customers.

    In fact, I predict that they will be charging authors for participation within the year. And if they don’t, they’re stoopid. Maybe a 6 month free trial or something, but then pony up some dough to participate.

    In his book, “The Tipping Point” Gladwell analyzed how a fad hits. How something, almost overnight, becomes all the rage. Think 50 Shades. He points out that these fads need advocates that have a sphere of influence which then goes viral. And that was published way before the Internet became so ubiquitous; and his research took place years earlier.

    So my goal isn’t to find my readers one at a time. For God’s sake, with one book that I make $2.00 a copy of, I can’t.

    My goal is to find advocates.
    A quick Google search for ‘YA book review’ gave me 714 places to look. I think there are some advocates in there- I just gotta ask.

    Nothing I read about the writing game, not one source said it was easy. You’re either underpaid by a publisher, or ignored by the masses. And that’s AFTER killing yourself putting together a novel.

    But I don’t want to be anywhere else.
    Period.

    Like

  2. Hey Desmond.

    I read your blog entry – and I’m pretty sure I even tweeted about it once or twice – but here’s a link for the readers over here.

    http://desmondxtorres.blogspot.ca/2013/01/jeff-bezos-and-amazoncom.html

    Oddly enough – for the month of January my Kobo sales have been kicking the butt out of my Kindle sales. I’ll post some actual numbers at the end of the month.

    Like

  3. Thanks a lot, man! So I guess you weren’t the one that was in Africa, hunh? LOL Thanks for the forward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

