Are e-books any different than “real” books?

Just recently I was asked to give my opnion on whether or not the e-book was going to put an end to traditionally published books.

That’s a big question – and way more than I can answer in the few minutes I have got before I must go and catch a bus to work.

But – here’s my quick thoughts on the matter.

I don’t own an e-reader – but that’s mostly because I’m broke.

However, I’d love to own a Kindle or Kobo e-reader.

Here’s why.

I have fifty-four year old eyes. Small font is beginning to escape me. The ability to blow up a novel’s font – as you can do with e-reading devices – is a wonderful sales feature.

I have a fifty-four year old back, as well – and I do most of my reading on the bus on the way to and from my day job. Means heavy books get left behind. Just last week I had to give up on reading Ken Follett’s PILLARS OF THE EARTH because it was too damn heavy. E-books let you carry entire encycopedias in your hip pocket.

That’s another sales feature.

Finally – I just don’t believe that e-books are the horror that some folks picture them as. Whether you are scrolling with a button or flipping an actual page you are still reading a book. Saying that an e-book is any different than a traditionally-published book is a little like saying that hardcovers are “better” than paperbacks.

It just doesn’t hold true.

A book is a book is a book!

 

yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

9 responses to “Are e-books any different than “real” books?

  1. Good post, Steve! Am planning on blogging about this myself reasonably soon. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s about the content, not the media.

    Like

  3. Great points! I’ve fallen in love with the conveniences of ebooks as well. It also helps with book hoarding tendencies. I’d much rather have a full kindle than stacks of overflowing books!

    Like

  4. It’s all going to go onto one all-purpose tablet or phone anyway, and kindles and kobos will be gone. Or (if you’ve seen them) the next big thing might be the Samsung Galaxy Note, which is a phone the size of a small tablet.

    Like

    • The only problem is those devices don’t have e-ink technology like a regular dedicated e-reader has. I would rather read on my Kindle with pages that actually read like real paper, than an iPad or phone any day. I also use the Kindle App on my Android phone from time to time – but only for short reads.

      Like

    • I figure there will ALWAYS be a “next big thing”.

      I likewise figure that I will ALWAYS be about three generations behind the “next big thing”.

      Hell, I don’t even have a cell phone. I hate them with a passion.

      Different strokes…

      Like

  5. No matter what form these devices take in the future, e-books are here to stay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

