Tesseracts 17 Writing Guidelines

Let me tell you the story.

Quite a few years ago I was asked to write a story for a collection of Canadian speculative fiction inspired by Literature, Music, Art and Culture. That deal fell through – because the publisher who had expressed an interest fell out of business – but a few years following that the editor who had originally asked me for the story got a second chance.

EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing asked the editor – Mark Leslie – to put together a similarly themed collection for their ongoing TESSERACTS series of Canadian Speculative Fiction.

So Mark e-mailed me and asked me if I’d like to come up with a story to fit that theme. It seems the first story wrote for Mark didn’t quite fit in the new collection.

Great, I thought.

I had worked with EDGE before in Nancy Kilpatrick’s EVOLVE and EVOLVE 2 collection of vampire tales and I had enjoyed the experience. EDGE is a Canadian company and that’s always a plus for me.

So I put together a simple tale involving a Sasquatch, the ghost of Sam Steele and the building of the Cross Canada railroad – centered around that famous painting of THE LAST SPIKE.

Mark liked the story – (I think he might have been drunk at the time) – and he accepted it – (after I sent him more liquor) – and then shortly afterwards EDGE contacted me and asked me if I would serve as co-editor of the next TESSERACTS volume.

Cool.

So here’s the submission guidelines.

http://www.edgewebsite.com/books/tess17/t17-catalog.html

Editing a collection like this requires a fine degree of getting one’s ducks in a row – something that I truly suck at.

But I will do my best to do this just as professionally as is possible. I figure I have a blog and I have a beard and I have a bit of a following. You’re supposed to have a blog these days – and I see a lot of photographs of editors and a lot of them have beards – although that might just be a sign of them being too lazy to shave – and a following is important too – unless it’s a following of angry villagers with pitchforks and torches and such.

 

 

 

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

 

Leave a Reply

