Happy birthday to me!

Happy birthday to me!

*****

Lastly, you should buy some Steve Vernon books. In fact, everyone who reads this entry ought to go and buy some Steve Vernon books. It’s my birthday today – but even if it wasn’t you will find that just the mere purchase of a Steve Vernon book will bring an odd sense of satisfaction into your spirit. Your friends will say to you – “Have you been working out? You seem taller? Lost weight? Blackmailing Donald Trump?” – and you can just smile and say to them – “No, I just bought a Steve Vernon book.”

In fact, all of the self-help volumes in the entire universe – including those volumes written in obscure Babylonian dialects could easily be summed up with – “Forget about knowing thyself and learning a new word every – like flatulation – and forget about yoga and jogging and tantric breathing techniques – forget about social networking and improving your diction and wiping your mouth after you sneeze – just buy a Steve Vernon and keep on grinning.”

Is anybody buying this?

 

These are not the droids you are looking for…

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

5 responses to “Happy birthday to me!

  1. Happy Birthday Steve! What a fantastic breakfast!

    Like

    • Thanks, Lauren. That’s an old picture but I actually had corn pancakes and bacon for my birthday breakfast today. My wife poured one of the pancakes into the shape of a big old heart – which made me grin. Then I gave myself a case of carpal tunnel syndrome thanking all of the birthday wishers at Facebook. Then I wrote another 1000 words on the novel manuscript. A shower is coming up and then I need dinner and I must go to work for a night shift. Birthday or not, life goes on.

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday. I hope the candles don’t represent a fire hazard at your age.

    Like

Leave a Reply

