The writing is on the wall…can you read it?

9 responses to “The writing is on the wall…can you read it?

  1. I rarely disagree with Stephen Fry but this time I must. Stairs remain in case elevators break down. It’s not the same with books. Book shops are closing down all the time because of a slump in sales whereas kindles and the like are growing in popularity. It’s easier to carry than most books, the ebooks themselves are a lot cheaper and usually pick up a story where you left off. I’m a fan of the written word and prefer it on paper but I can see it’s diminishing in it’s popularity now. Some will remain I’m sure, but as kindle fever continues to grip we have to wonder whether the price of paper books will increase in order to make it worthwhile printing them.Maybe they’ll be put on places as Createspace and printed on demand.

    Like

    • I hear you David. And you’re dead right that e-books are going to wash over traditional books like a great digital tsunami. But, I thought it was a pretty good sort of metaphor. I was applauding the wordplay as much as anything.

      Still, traditional books are a long way from being extinct just yet. I am whole-heartedly embracing the future – but I’m not prepared to write the past off just yet.

      Like

  2. I find the Fourth of July is a great time to check out what everyone’s reading in my area, since the beaches are packed and you can causally walk by, looking over everyone’s shoulders to see what they have their noses in. The year I was again shocked (and jealous—ah, wouldn’t it be so fantastic to see one of them holding my books one day!) by how many people still read print books. Although completely anecdotal, I would say I saw probably ten people to every ereading device. People still seem to love the feel of a print book on the beach.

    Like

  3. Gotta love Stephen Fry! I will still be buying actual books even though I have a kindle.

    Like

  4. Not too fond of stairs myself, but I do want to believe that nothing will replace printed books. They will always hold a special place in the literary world.

    Like

  5. Okay, sorry to be a little pedantic here, but don’t elevators and stairs serve the same function? They both are a means of getting us up and down onto different floors of buildings.
    Similarly ereading devices and printed books serve the same function: they impart information and/or entertain us via the written word.
    To take the analogy a little further, elevators help people with mobility problems move from floor to floor, whilst Kindles help people with visual impairment read via the adjustable font size.
    Yes, I love paper books, but I also love my Kindle. It’s not an either/or situation for me. They are both good, and I believe they will both co exist for quite some time to come.
    Which, I believe, is what Stephen Fry was getting at.

    Like

Leave a Reply

