Strong Arms – How To Attract Attention to Your Next Book!

I just received a brand new Amazon review of my hockey/vampire novelette – SUDDEN DEATH OVERTIME.

http://www.amazon.com/review/RCKMMYQQIXDT7/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0077ZR2TS&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=

It’s always a great pleasure to receive a good positive review for one of my books.

Reviews are affirmations of your existence as an author. They tell you – hey, somebody read my book and liked it.

They aren’t the only affirmation you can receive.

But they help.

A good review can help to sell a book. The more books I sell, the fatter the royalty check I receive.

Royalty checks are another positive affirmation of your existence as a writer.

A good fat royalty check says – hey, somebody bought my book.

That’s nice too.

******

So I sent the reviewer – whose name is Mike – a message to express my gratitude and appreciation for his review. He allowed that he was a writer himself and he was finding it a little challenging to actually get his book seen and read and noticed.

To return the favor – here’s a shot of the cover of Mike’s e-book INFERNUS, from Blasphemous Books, as well as a link to the Amazon posting. I read the sneak peek of the book and I will tell you that this book is DEFINITELY not for the easily-offended. This is hardcore, graphic and nasty uberhorror. If that is your particular cup of tea then you might want to pick up a copy.

Mike observed how hard it was to get a book noticed out there these days.

Let me quote him.

 It’s weird how it seems harder to get your book out there now that the era of ebooks have arrived. I support the indie writers, and it’s nearly ALL I have been reading for about a year.

He has got a point. One of the side-effects of the e-book age is an abundance of indie self-published authors out there. And still the big boys seem to dominate.

(Fifty Shades of Grey, anyone?)

Viral marketing and the matrix-like reach of the internet has definitely changed the shape of the marketplace.

But as for how hard it is to be “discovered” as a writer – I can tell you that it has ALWAYS been this hard. I have been writing and being published for over thirty-five years. I started out fast – with sales to Cemetery Dance, The Horror Show and Karl Edward Wagner’s Year’s Best Horror series.

Even then, I was just a face in the crowd. Some writers seem to catch fire. Others just smolder along. It isn’t always talent. My work stands with the best of them – most of my readers agree – but certain writers just seem to hit that elusive right note that gets folks to singing their praises.

I’m talking dudes like Brian Keene and Joe Lansdale who have somehow managed to attract a large following of dedicated readers.

Maybe it is luck.

Maybe it is fate.

Maybe it is the fact that they are both damn good writers.

Whatever it is – those two gents and other writers like them continue to struggle for attention. Even a dude like Joe Lansdale jumps around and waves his arms just as hard as if he was just starting out.

That’s the key, I guess.

Strong arms.

Keep writing and keep waving – and try not to think about Stevie Smith.

Not Waving but Drowning

Nobody heard him, the dead man,
But still he lay moaning:
I was much further out than you thought
And not waving but drowning.

Poor chap, he always loved larking
And now he’s dead
It must have been too cold for him his heart gave way,
They said.

Oh, no no no, it was too cold always
(Still the dead one lay moaning)
I was much too far out all my life
And not waving but drowning.

Stevie Smith

*******

In the end your best way to be noticed is to just put one more book out there. Don’t just sit there at your Facebook-Twitter-Pinterest-Tumblr-WordPress-dashboard, waving your arms and hollering out the eternal spam-king’s constant rant – BUY MY BOOK, BUY MY BOOK.

Stop waving them arms so hard and put all that energy to better purpose.

Just write something, would you?

“A writer is someone who has written today.” – J.A. Jance

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

4 responses to “Strong Arms – How To Attract Attention to Your Next Book!

  1. Thanks for putting my cover and promo out there, bud!

    Mike Jones, author of INFERNUS.

    Like

  2. Wonderful post, Steve! And I love your choice of words that you’re “in this same boat together.” It’s been four years so you probably don’t recall, but when we first published your Captain Nothing story in Tabloid Stories 2 (which spoofed on sea monsters), it joined not only a story by Garry Charles but Mike Jones, as well. We were in talks about publishing INFERNUS way back then and ultimately decided to release it through our newer imprint, Blasphemous.

    Tabloid Terrors 2 has been out of print for a while, but I’m currently getting it ready for its re-release in ebook form, so the two of you will be in back in that boat once again! (we’ll promote it more after the first is out again and we have a cover made)

    I think it’s great that you discovered each other more through your work, though. It’s how we originally learned to love both of you, after all, and afterwards learned what beautiful people there were behind the writing.

    Like

    • Well said, Jerrod.

      (which is a cleverly designed code to conceal the fact that I missed this comment when you posted it and just tripped over if five minutes when I was futzing around with old blog entries when I really should be writing…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

