Let’s Talk About Video Stores – part 2

This is a follow-up to a previous post – originally posted back in July. You can read the original post here, if you’d like. https://stevevernonstoryteller.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=77&action=edit

Today is the last day of Mumford Video. The store is nearly cleaned out. I bought six of the shelving units, intending to use them in a personal library that we are building in our basement.

Seeing the store this way touched me deeply. As I mentioned, I had been a member of this store since before it had even opened up. The truth is, when it changed hands five years ago, I almost bought the store. I was going through a transition and wanted something to do for a living – and I thought that owning a video store might have been it.

Well, it might have been – but I guess I will never know.

Here’s a newspaper article on the closure. http://thechronicleherald.ca/business/73210-halifaxs-mumford-video-close

I also bought a few too many of her discounted dvd’s – partly to help her out and partly because I am incurably addicted.

I grabbed that copy of Mao’s Last Dancer, The Whole Monty, An American Werewolf in London, The Cube, Calender Girls, Saint Ralph, Billy Elliot, Kickass and a few more that I can’t remember.

As I was culling through the shelves I heard the store owner taking the time with one of her customers to talk them out of buying a particular movie. “You won’t like that” she told them. “It goes on and on and doesn’t ever really come to a point. You expect something to happen and it doesn’t.”

That’s what I’ll miss, most of all. Somebody that actually digs movies – rather than a Netflicks advertisement that says something along the lines of – BUY THIS SHIT.

I remember working in a furniture making factory – that has since been unioned and spent out of business. I remember the day they brought in a computerized saw that put five good men out of work. The saw was faster and more accurate and it didn’t have take lunch breaks – but nevertheless something irreplacable was lost.

That’s how I feel today.

Something irreplacable has been lost.

So long, Mumford Video.

 

 

 

Yours in storytelling,

Steve Vernon

Leave a Reply

