Snow, Snow, Snow… January 17, 2005

Snow, snow, snow, snow….
Yesterday it looked like spring. All the snow that fallen on Boxing Day had been melted away. This morning, we’re snowed in again. Opened the door and there was over two feet of snow drifted onto the steps. Set my wife free to her studio around the corner afraid I might not see her again, that the wind might blow her away or she might step into a snowdrift and vanish.

She’ll be fine. I’m being melodramatic. Still, the contrast is amazing. It’s been like this for a few winters, this one worse than ever. We either get no snow or SNNNOOOOWWWWWWWW!

I finished the bookshelves. They look great. The middle shelf has all of the original Star Trek episodes all lined up. I’m worried about my reputation as a working class hero. Folks will start sliding pocket protectors under my door. My inner geek is showing.

I’m just sitting down here at 10am. Figure I’ll work for a couple of hours, then curl up with the wife and enjoy our day off. If we have power we’ll watch romantic movies. If we don’t, we’ll light a romantic fire, (except the chimney sounds like it’s snowed over, and a fire might not be the best of ideas).

Welcome winter. Welcome back. Welcome to Nova Scotia.

Yours in horror,

Steve Vernon

Leave a Reply

